Other Words for Home (MP3 CD)

Staff Pick Badge
Other Words for Home Cover Image
$39.99
Backordered

Staff Reviews


I can't wait to share this exceptional story of a Syrian girl struggling to find her way in both of her worlds. This story provides empathy and insight while engaging us in a culture we don't often see depicted in lit for kids. I love the complex and loving relationships among Judes family. Stellar storytelling.

— Kraar, Jennifer

Summer 2019 Kids Indie Next List


Other Words for Home is such an important book and should be required reading for every student at a middle-grade reading level. The character of Jude teaches us empathy as we read what it’s like to be a young teenager from Syria trying to fit in in America. She tries to learn the English language while tackling discrimination and classmates unwilling to understand and accept her, including her cousin of the same age. Jasmine Warga has created a story that is both powerful and gentle, big but full of small moments, a happy but sad story that will live in your heart.”
— Marilyn Robbins, BookBar, Denver, CO

Description


A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982657383
ISBN-10: 1982657383
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 28th, 2019
Language: English