The Meiji Guillotine Murders (Pushkin Vertigo) (Paperback)

The Meiji Guillotine Murders (Pushkin Vertigo) By Futaro Yamada, Bryan Karetnyk (Translated by) Cover Image

The Meiji Guillotine Murders (Pushkin Vertigo) (Paperback)

By Futaro Yamada, Bryan Karetnyk (Translated by)

$16.95


On Our Shelves Now: We will email when ready for pick up
1 on hand, as of Jun 18 11:07pm
(Mystery)
A classic Japanese mystery —a pair of sleuths investigate a series of bloody murders in 19th century Tokyo

A captivating locked room murder mystery perfect for fans of Stuart Turton and Janice Hallett


Japan, 1869. A time of reform and rebellion.

Detectives Kazuki and Kawaji are assigned to investigate a series of seemingly impossible murders. Together with the help of a mysterious shrine maiden, can they solve each gruesome death and piece together the dark connection between them?

Taking us deep into the heart of 19th century Tokyo, The Meiji Guillotine Murders is a fiendish murder mystery from one of Japan's greatest crime writers.
Fūtaro Yamada is the pen name of Seiya Yamada. He was born in 1922 in Hyogo Prefecture, Japan, and graduated from the faculty of medicine at Tokyo University. He made his authorial debut in 1947 with the short story "The Incident at the Dharma Pass" and went on to write over a hundred novels and short stories. Known for his versatility, he is best loved in Japan for his series of ninja novels and historical crime novels. Many of his works have been adapted for film, television, manga and anime. He died in 2001.

Bryan Karetnyk is a translator of Japanese and Russian literature. His recent translations for Pushkin Press include Gaito Gazdanov’s An Evening with Claire and Ryuˉnosuke Akutagawa’s Murder in the Age of Enlightenment.
Product Details ISBN: 9781782278887
ISBN-10: 1782278885
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Publication Date: June 4th, 2024
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Pushkin Vertigo
“The book is far more than a typical detective story, providing an accessible way of thinking about the time period and its issues.” Asian Review of Books