Punishment of a Hunter: A Leningrad Confidential (The Leningrad Confidential Series #1) (Paperback)

Punishment of a Hunter: A Leningrad Confidential (The Leningrad Confidential Series #1) By Yulia Yakovleva, Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp (Translated by) Cover Image

Punishment of a Hunter: A Leningrad Confidential (The Leningrad Confidential Series #1) (Paperback)

$16.95


Email or call for price.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Leningrad Confidential Series series.

“Outstanding... Yakovleva perfectly balances evoking the terror of living in a police state with her whodunit plotline. Fans will hope to see much more of Zaitsev.”  --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

The debut of the ultimate noir detective series: set in Stalinist Russia, riddled with corruption, informers, and purges that takes paranoia to the next level

Perfect for readers of John Banville, Philip Kerr, and Lara Prescott's The Secrets We Kept, and for fans of the international Netflix sensation Babylon Berlin


MURDER
1930s Leningrad. Stalin is tightening his grip on the Soviet Union, and a mood of fear cloaks the city. Detective Vasily Zaitsev is tasked with investigating a series of bizarre and seemingly motiveless homicides.

MAYHEM
As the curious deaths continue, precious Old Master paintings start to disappear from the Hermitage collection. Could the crimes be connected?

MISTRUST
When Zaitsev sets about his investigations, he meets with obstruction at every turn. Soon even he comes under suspicion from the Soviet secret police.

The resolute detective must battle an increasingly dangerous political situation in his dogged quest to find the murderer―and stay alive.

“Leads the hero (as well as the reader) through every circle of soviet hell, to a bright finale.” --Medusa
Yulia Yakovleva is a writer, theatre and ballet critic, and playwright. She is particularly known for two types of historical fiction set in Stalin-era Leningrad: the award-winning children’s chapter book series The Leningrad Tales that confront Soviet history, and the thrilling new series of detective novels about Leningrad police investigator Vasily Zaitsev. Yakovleva received her MA from School of Creative Arts of the University of Hertfordshire. She lives in Oslo, Norway, with her husband and son.

Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp translates literature from Arabic, German and Russian into English. Her work has been shortlisted for many prestigious prizes including the Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize.
Product Details ISBN: 9781782276791
ISBN-10: 1782276793
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Publication Date: November 1st, 2022
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: The Leningrad Confidential Series
“The miseries of the 1930s are vividly rendered in Punishment of a Hunter for an unsettling and gripping achievement.”
--Crime Reads

“Outstanding... Yakovleva perfectly balances evoking the terror of living in a police state with her whodunit plotline. Fans of Martin Cruz Smith’s Arkady Renko will hope to see much more of Zaitsev.”
--Publishers Weekly (starred review)