A Winter's Promise: Book One of the Mirror Visitor Quartet (Hardcover)

A Winter's Promise: Book One of the Mirror Visitor Quartet Cover Image
$19.95
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Sep 24 7:45am
(Young Adult)

Fall 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“I had high hopes since I've been coveting this book since I saw it in a Metro station in Paris a year ago. It definitely did not disappoint. It is a stellar addition to the fantasy genre that can be recommended for adults and teens alike. The world building is incredible and Ophelia is a heroine you can immediately relate to. She is clever, resourceful, and constantly underestimated. Ms. Dabos delights and thrills as Ophelia finds herself caught in the middle of political intrigue and deadly secrets with nothing but her wits to keep her alive. As the tension builds and mysteries are revealed, it become impossible to put the book down.”
— Katerina Argyres, Bookshop West Portal, San Francisco, CA

Description


Volume 1 of The Mirror Visitor Quartet

Winner of the Grand Prix de l'Imaginaire

Where once there was unity, vastly different worlds now exist. Over each, the spirit of an omnipotent and immortal ancestor abides.

Long ago, following a cataclysm called the Rupture, the world was shattered into many floating celestial islands, known now as arks. Ophelia lives on Anima, where inhabitants can read the pasts of objects. What's more, she is also a "mirror-traveler," possessing an ability that has been passed down to her through generations. Her idyllic existence on Anima is disrupted when she is promised in marriage to Thorn, an influential member of a distant clan. Still only a girl, Ophelia must leave her family and follow her fianc to Citaceleste, the capital of a cold and icy ark called Pole. But there, her future husband seems indifferent to her and she slowly realizes that her presence on Pole is part of a much bigger plot and has far-reaching ramifications not only for her but for her entire world.

An unforgettable heroine, an insightful study of relationships, a rich and bountiful universe, intrigue and suspense, A Winter's Promise is perfect for readers of Margaret Rogerson, Scott Westerfeld, Melissa Albert, and N.K. Jemisin.

About the Author


Christelle Dabos was born on the Côte d'Azur in 1980 and grew up in a home filled with classical music and historical games. She now lives in Belgium. The Mirror Visitor, her debut series, won the Gallimard Jeunesse-RTL-Télérama First Novel Competition. Since graduating in French from Oxford University, Hildegarde Serle has worked in London as a newspaper subeditor, mainly on The Independent and The Sunday Telegraph. In 2011, she decided to combine her love of both English and French by doing the Chartered Institute of Linguists Diploma in Translation. Although she still lives in London, her heart still lives on the Quai aux Fleurs in Paris.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781609454838
ISBN-10: 1609454839
Publisher: Europa Editions
Publication Date: September 25th, 2018
Pages: 468
Language: English