Where the Sky Lives (Hardcover)

Where the Sky Lives Cover Image

Where the Sky Lives (Hardcover)

$16.99


On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of May 23 11:43am
(Childrens)

From the author of Five Things About Ava Andrews comes a new middle grade stand-alone novel with STEM and activism themes, set against the backdrop of beautiful Zion National Park. With the perfect blend of humor and heart, this poignant story about family, grief, and changes beyond our control is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Meg Medina, and Lynne Kelly.

When life doesn’t make sense, twelve-year-old amateur astronomer Tuesday Beals has always looked to the stars above Zion National Park, where she lives. Her beloved late uncle Ezra taught her astronomy, but now their special stargazing sites are all she has left of him, along with his ashes and a poem that may be a riddle.

Then a new housing development next door threatens to ruin the night skies and her favorite astronomy spots. Desperate to focus on something besides the growing uncle-sized chasm between her and her mother, the park archeologist, Tuesday takes up photography with her best friend, Carter, after they find an abandoned camera. With this new way of seeing the universe, she tries to solve her uncle’s riddle to save the land.

But one day, a photo reveals clues about an endangered animal—one that could halt construction. Will the discovery be enough to save the park and keep the rest of her world from falling apart?  

Margaret Dilloway is the author of Summer of a Thousand Pies and six other books for children and adults. She lives with her family in San Diego, where she performs long-form improv on three teams and writes and produces sketch shows. Margaret can be found online at www.margaretdilloway.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063047242
ISBN-10: 0063047241
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: March 8th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English

“I have a new favorite character in Tuesday Beals, who faces changes in her family, friendships, and home with strength and humor. While navigating through loss and grief, Tuesday keeps fighting to protect what’s most important. Where the Stars Live is a captivating, memorable story and a hopeful reminder that small actions make a big difference.” — Lynne Kelly, award-winning author of Song For a Whale

"Beautifully written, Where the Sky Lives is a tender exploration of grief, loss, and change. Dilloway clearly knows Zion National Park inside and out. She paints such stunning imagery with her words, that readers will feel as though they've experienced all the beauty, majesty, and wonders of Zion firsthand" — Dusti Bowling, author of Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

“Genuine friendship and a mysterious adventure joined with a compassionately crafted exploration of grief and the journey of resilience gives this story its heart. Protagonist Tuesday Beals’ star shines bright through her strength and perseverance as she ventures to find meaning after loss in this inspiring and hopeful tale.” — Melissa Savage, author of Lemons

"A call to action and for acceptance wrapped in a love letter to a national park." — Kirkus Reviews

"Dilloway paints an intimate and affectionate portrait of the park in this stirring story that gracefully explores the complexity of grief, inevitability of change, and beauty of perseverance and love." — Booklist

“Readers will feel like Tuesday’s trusted confidante as she delves into the park’s beauty, adventures, and secrets in this bighearted and leisurely paced novel.”  — Publishers Weekly

"A gentle novel ¬≠especially suited to students interested in the environment, careers in conservation, or the national parks." — School Library Journal