Summer of a Thousand Pies (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Summer of a Thousand Pies Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jul 18 5:45am
(Childrens)

Staff Reviews


Loved watching Cady as she tackles baking challenges and learns trust. Reminiscent of The Great Gilly Hopkins in all the right ways.

— Kraar, Jennifer

Reviewed by Llija

Cady isn’t used to stability after growing up homeless with her dad in San Diego. But when she has to move to Julian to live with her aunt Shell who owns a pie shop, her lives changes, and she doesn’t know if it’s for better or for worse. I loved this book about baking, family and growing up. I recommend this book to nine to twelve year old kids. Margaret Dilloway does an amazing job combining serious moments, funny moments and baking moments.

 

 

— From Young Readers Advisory Board

Description


A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel about a girl who must try to save her aunt’s failing pie shop, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree—and The Great British Baking Show.

When Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn’t even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she isn’t sure what to expect. Cady isn’t used to stability, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad.

Now she’s staying in her mother’s old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell’s own pie shop—and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs.

Then she finds out that Aunt Shell’s shop is failing. Saving the business and protecting the first place she’s ever really felt safe will take everything she's learned and the help of all her new friends. But are there some things even the perfect pie just can’t fix?

Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie.

About the Author


Margaret Dilloway lives in San Diego with her husband, a former Army Ranger; their three children; and a goldendoodle named Gatsby, who has his own following. In her spare time, she dabbles in long-form improv, baking, and hiking. She can be found online here: www.margaretdilloway.com.

Praise For…


“Inspiring and hopeful…. [a] tender coming-of-age story, perfect for fans for Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin.”
— ALA Booklist

“Evok[ing] the warmth of home, newfound security, and friendship, Dilloway effectively contrasts Cady’s old life with her new one while examining her muddled emotions.... Those who share the protagonist’s passion for the culinary arts will delight in the easy-to-follow pie recipes following the story’s gratifying conclusion.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Anne of Green Gables will find a satisfying story and another heroine to cheer on…. Sweet as pie.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Memorable characters and strong writing make this more than just a book about pie.”
— School Library Journal

“Readers will delight in Cady’s new world of baking and friends and learning that with both, she’ll be able to get through just about anything. This fabulous book about making pies will leave you hungry, while Cady’s journey toward making a life will leave you entirely satisfied.”
— Donna Gephart, award-winning author of Lily and Dunkin and In Your Shoes

“Margaret Dilloway approaches tough topics with a fine touch. Readers are going to love Cady’s spunk, determination, and grit.”
— Karina Yan Glaser, the author of The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

“The writing is lovely, and the main character is sensitively portrayed. Summer of a Thousand Pies is delightful reading for summer or any other season.”
— Margarita Engle, Young People’s Poet Laureate and Newbery Honor-winning author of The Surrender Tree


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062803467
ISBN-10: 0062803468
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: April 16th, 2019
Pages: 384
Language: English